HypnoVR constitutes a Scientific Advisory Board

Renowned experts join HypnoVR’s scientific advisory board to support the growth of the leading digital therapy for pain and anxiety relief.

Strasbourg, 11 / 01 / 2021, HypnoVR, leader in digital therapies for the relief of pain, Stress and Anxiety today introduces its Scientific advisory board. It aims to consolidate HypnoVR’s significant investments in clinical research since its creation in 2016 and will help build the future of digital therapies. Alongside Drs. Chloé Chauvin and Denis Graff, co-founders of HypnoVR, and in line with the company’s medical DNA, the board is composed of Drs. Pierre Diemunsch, Tong Joo (TJ) Gan, Peter Kranke, Klaus Torp and Olivier Traxer, professors in medicine internationally recognized for their scientific work.

The committee will support HypnoVR in the development of its innovative therapies, its growth and its scientific influence. his support for research supports the dynamics initiated by the company’s founders. Convinced of HypnoVR’s progress in the treatment of pain, the committee will also confirm the Strasbourg-based scale-up’s position as a leader in clinical research.

“We are very honored that such renowned colleagues are investing their time and expertise alongside us in the project. For our company, a therapeutic innovation company based on a disruptive technology, this commitment demonstrates the importance we place on the clinical and scientific validation of solutions for the treatment of pain and anxiety,” said Denis Graff, co-founder of HypnoVR and anaesthesiologist at the Rhéna Clinic in France.

About the members of the scientific committee:

Pierre Diemunsch : Pierre Diemunsch: Professor, Department of Anesthesiology, University of Strasbourg (France) .
Pierre Diemunsch is involved in peri operative care since four decades and particularly interested in the patient safety issues. His PhD is in clinical pharmacology and he has a degree in medical hypnosis. He stressed the value of the multimodal approaches to improve patient care in a variety of domains as airway management, PONV prophylaxis and treatment, peri operative hypertension.

Dr.Diemunsch is Professor Emeritus at the University of Strasbourg, France. He is the Head of the Experimental Anesthesia Unit of the IRCAD institute. He has been Chair of the Anesthesia and Intensive Care Pole in the same city and is now consultant. He served as a visiting professor at Baylor University in Houston TX, USA and was President of the European Airway Management Society. He wrote numerous medical articles and book chapters; his h-index is 36.

Tong Joo (TJ) Gan (MD, MBA, MHS, FRCA (UK), FRCA (Ire), LicAc): Professor and Chairman, Department of Anesthesiology Stony Brook University Renaissance School of Medicine, Stony Brook, New York (USA)
Dr. TJ Gan is Professor and Chairman of the Department of Anesthesiology at Stony Brook University Renaissance School of Medicine in Stony Brook, New York. reviously, Dr. Gan was Professor of Anesthesiology and Vice Chairman for Clinical Research and Faculty Development at Duke University. Dr. Gan received his medical training at the London Hospital Medical College of the University of London. He has attained licensure in acupuncture from the British College of Acupuncture and a Master in Clinical Research as well as a Master in Business Administration (MBA).

Dr. Gan is a diplomate of the American Board of Anesthesiology and is a Fellow of the American Society of Anesthesiologists (FASA), the Royal College of Anaesthetists of England (FRCA), and the College of Anesthetists in Ireland. Dr. Gan has been the recipient of the Society for Ambulatory Anesthesia Young Investigator Award and the International Anesthesia Research Society Clinical Scholar Research Award. He serves as the Perioperative Medicine Executive Section Editor of Anesthesia and Analgesia and is on the Editorial Board of Perioperative Medicine.

Dr. Gan is the Founding President of the American Society for Enhanced Recovery (ASER), President of the Perioperative Quality Initiative (POQI), President Elect of the Association of Academic Anesthesiology Chairs (AAAC), a Past President of the Society for Ambulatory Anesthesia (SAMBA) and the International Society for Anesthetic Pharmacology (ISAP). He is also the Vice President of the Stony Brook Physician Practice Group. Dr. Gan has published over 400 manuscripts in peer-reviewed journals, books and books chapters. He has served as an invited speaker for many national and international professional conferences and as principal investigator or co-investigator for over 100 clinical trials, focusing on enhanced recovery and topics related to perioperative medicine, including postoperative nausea and vomiting, pain, fluid and hemodynamic management, and anesthetic pharmacology.

Peter Kranke : Professor of anesthesiology at the University of Würzburg (Germany)

Peter Kranke is professor of anesthesiology at the University of Würzburg, Germany. Dr. Kranke is known for the design and conduct of clinical studies and for performing systematic reviews in the context of perioperative medicine. He published numerous papers on research focused on evidence-based medicine and interventional and observational trials on postoperative nausea and vomiting and other issues in conjunction with perioperative medicine and associated topics. The area of his clinical responsibility and interest, among others, is the safe provision of anesthesia and analgesia in obstetrics and gynecology.

Dr. Kranke also holds special titles for intensive care medicine, pain management palliative care, emergency medicine, acupuncture and medical quality management (Bavarian chamber of physicians) as well as qualifications with respect to the conduct of clinical trials (phase II to IV). The working group “clinical studies” and trial management, headed by Kranke, compiles systematic reviews on interventions in health care with associated economic benefit assessment according to the criteria of the cochrane collaboration, other systematic reviews and has a coordinating role with respect to clinical trials.

Klaus Torp : Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology at Mayo Clinic, Jacksonville, in Florida (USA) Dr. Torp received his medical degree from the University of Saarland in Germany and has been an anesthesiologist for over 25 years. He currently practices at the Mayo Clinic in Florida. His primary interests as an anesthesiologist are in intraoperative pain management as well as transplantation, hyperbaric medicine, monitoring and airway management.

Dr. Torp is dedicated to improving health care through innovation in teaching using simulation in medicine. He is the principal investigator in multiple studies with industry and institutional funding.

Olivier Traxer : Professor and Chairman of Urology department, Sorbonne University, Tenon Hospital (Paris-France)
Olivier Traxer is also the director of the GRC#20 (Clinical Research Group #20) and the minimally invasive surgery section in Tenon Hospital (Paris). He did a research-fellowship at Southwestern Medical School, University of Texas, by Dallas-USA (Charles Y.C PAK & Margaret Sue PEARLE) to subspecialize in Endourology and kidney stone management. As endo-urologist, his main goal is to improve the knowledge on urinary stone disease and endourology. Pr Traxer published more than 350 per-reviewed papers.

Pr Traxer is a board member of: the EndoUrological Society, the French Association of Urology (AFU) and EAU board member of the EULIS and ESUT. He is an active member of AAEU and AAGUS. He was also the treasurer of SIU. He received in 2010 (Chicago-WCE) the Arthur Smith Award and the Ralph Clayman Mentor Award in 2020. He was also the president of the World Congress of EndoUrology in Paris 2018 (WCE2018)